Undergraduate Course

Department of Chemistry University of Oxford

Below is a list of eligible Part II supervisors within the department and the maximum number of Part II students they are eligible to supervise in a single year. Not all of these people will offer Part II places every year. To see a list for the coming year please visit the sub-page on the left hand menu.

Inorganic Chemistry Physical and Theoretical

Prof. J.H.P. Bayley (Professor of Chemical Biology)

Prof. T. Brown (Associate Head - Research)

**Dr. M.J. Booth (HB)

Prof. C.J. Schofield (Head of Organic Chemistry)

Prof. S.G. Davies  (Waynflete Professor of Chemistry)

Prof. R.M. Adlington

Prof. E. Anderson

Prof. H.L. Anderson

Prof. J.W. Burton

Prof. T.D.W. Claridge

Prof. S.J. Conway

Prof. B.G. Davis

Prof. D.J. Dixon

Prof. T.J. Donohoe

Prof. F. Duarte Gonzalez

*Dr. E. Flashman

Prof. S.P. Fletcher

**Dr Mohammadali Foroozandeh (TC)

Prof. V. Gouverneur

Prof. D.M. Hodgson

***Dr. S. Jenkinson

*Dr. A. Kawamura

**Dr. V. Lee (MM)

*Prof. J. McCullagh

Prof. M.G. Moloney

**Dr. P. Roberts (SGD)

Prof. J. Robertson

Prof. A. Russell 

Prof. M.D. Smith

Dr. M.I. Stewart

**Dr. J. Thomson (SGD)

Prof. M.C. Willis

Prof. S.J. Clarke (Head of Inorganic Chemistry)

Prof. R. Cooper (Head of Chemical Crystallography)

Prof. S. Aldridge

Prof. F.A. Armstrong

Prof. P.D. Battle

Prof. P.D. Beer

Prof. W.I.F. David

Prof. J.J. Davis

Prof. V.L. Deringer

Prof. P.P. Edwards (Professor of Inorganic Chemistry)

**Dr. N. Farrer (SF)

Prof. S. Faulkner

Prof. J. Goicoechea

Prof. A.L. Goodwin

Prof. M.A. Hayward

**Dr M.J. Langton (PDB)

Prof. J.E. McGrady

Prof. P. Mountford

Prof. D. O'Hare

**Dr. M. O'Neill

*Dr. N. Rees

Prof. L.J. Smith 

*Dr. A. Thompson

Prof. C.R. Timmel

Prof. S.C.E. Tsang

***Dr. Z. Turner (DOH)

Prof. K. Vincent

Prof. C.K. Williams

Prof. L.-L. Wong

**Dr. Pu Zhao (SCET)

Prof. S. Mackenzie (Head of Physical & Theoretical Chemistry)

Prof. Dame C.V. Robinson (Dr Lee's Professor of Chemistry)

Prof. D.E. Logan (Coulson Professor of Theoretical Chemistry)

Prof. D.G.A.L. Aarts 

Prof. A. Baldwin

Prof. W. Barford

Prof. J.L.P. Benesch

Prof. M. Brouard

**Dr. M. Burt

Prof. R.G. Compton (Aldrichian Praelector in Chemistry)

Prof. J.P.K. Doye

Prof. R. Dullens 

Prof. J.S. Foord

*Dr. M. Galpin

*Prof. N.J.B. Green (Associate Head - Teaching)

**Dr. B. Heazlewood

Prof. P.J. Hore

**Dr. R. Jacobs

Prof. M. Krishnan

Prof. P. Kukura

Prof. D.E. Manolopoulos

Prof. S. Perkin

Prof. S. Rauschenbach

Prof. G.A.D. Ritchie

Prof. C. Vallance

Prof. M. Wilson 

Those marked with a:
* can supervise up to 2 Part II students without co-supervision
** can supervise up to 2 Part II students with a permanent member of staff as the co-supervisor (these students will count towards the co-supervisor's total of 6)
*** can supervise 1 Part II student with a permanent member of staff as the co-supervisor (this student will count towards the co-supervisor's total of 6) 

All permanent academic staff are able to take up to 6 Part II students, but any supervisor wishing to supervise more than 4 should notify the Director of Studies via undergraduate.studies@chem.ox.ac.uk detailing what provision they would make in their lab.